Tag Archives: Edinburgh League

Edinburgh 1 4-2 Wandering Dragons 2

Neil Berry 0.5-0.5 Anthony Dempsey

Sebastian Gattenloehner 1-0 Eoin Campbell

Andrew Green 0-1 Richard Kynoch

Daniel McGowan 0.5-0.5 Ewan Taylor

Hugh Brechin 1-0 Richard Carter

Graeme Kafka 1-0 Donald Heron

Next match is at home to Lasswade on Wednesday.  I believe that ourselves and University are the only teams on maximum points after 2 rounds.

The Chess Edinburgh Premier Division for the 2010/11 Season began last night with a match between Edinburgh 1 and 2.  The second team were weakened by the absence of a few of their regulars, and the match was closer and more hard fought than the final scoreline suggests.  However:

Edinburgh 1 5.5-0.5 Edinburgh 2

Neil Berry 1-0 Chris McIntee

Andrew Green 1-0 Mike Ridge

Daniel McGowan 1-0 David Archibald

Hugh Brechin 1-0 Mark Sanderson

David Oswald 1-0 Colin Hutchison

Graeme Kafka 0.5-0.5 Keith Aitchison

On another note, the Richardson Cup draw has thrown up a cracking match for us against Edinburgh West, while the Spens draw has us away to East Kilbride in the first round.

Played 09/03:

Dragons I 2-4 Edinburgh I

Mark Orr 0-1 Neil Berry

Alan Minnican 1-0 Sebastian Gattenloehner

Graham Hamilton 0-1 Clement Sreeves

John McLay 1-0 Graeme Kafka

Walter Burnett 0-1 Hugh Brechin

Elliot Sloan 0-1 Daniel McGowan

Nice to win this one, although the result had no impact on the final standings.  Clement finished the season as top scorer with a superb 8.5/9, ahead of Hugh (8/9), Daniel (8/10) and myself (7.5/10).

Match Result from 03/03:

Edinburgh I 5-1 Pentland Hills I

Neil Berry 1-0 Ian Morrison

Andrew Green 1-0 Mike Thompson

Clement Sreeves 0.5-0.5 David Begg

Calum MacQueen 1-0 Alan Heavens

Hugh Brechin 1-0 James Roy Ramsey

Daniel McGowan 0.5-0.5 Walter Pearson

Convincing wins by Andrew and Calum put us in control early on in this match, and while the other games gave varying degrees of concern, the result was never really in doubt.  This victory means that the 1st Team have retained their Premier Division crown, with 1 match still to play.

Match played 3rd March 2010

        Edinburgh 3                    3-3         Bank of Scotland 1

        Lindsay McGregor       0.5 – 0.5    Jamie Mollison

        Colin Hutchison              0   –   1       Findlay Murray

        Jonny Scott                       1    –  0      David Stewart

        Mark Sanderson              0   –  1        Thomas Grundy

        Shivan Murdochy           1   –   0       Graeme Russell

        David Cubitt                    0.5 –  0.5    James Turner

A draw against Lasswade 2 in the final match of the season will be enough to ensure the Third Team are promoted.