Archive for January, 2011

Edinburgh CC FIDE Swiss

Monday, January 24th, 2011

The club will once again be running an 8 round FIDE rated swiss over 2 weekends in June.  We’re still finalising the dates – the calendar in June will be packed with tournaments – but likely to be the middle 2 weekends.  Further details to follow, but feel free to contact me at if you are interested in playing.

Richardson Cup Quarter Final Result

Monday, January 24th, 2011

Played 22/1:

Edinburgh West 1.5 – 6.5 Edinburgh

Keti Arakhamia-Grant 0-1 Neil Berry

Craig Pritchett 0-1 Sebastian Gattenloehner

Jonathan Grant 0-1 Andrew Green

Neil Farrell 0-1 Calum MacQueen

Daniel McGowan draw George Neave

Alan Bell draw Alastair White

Ian McLean 0-1 Hugh Brechin

Kevin Mayo draw Graeme Kafka

A fantastic result!   The semi final draw will be made on Thursday.  Possible opponents are Dundee, Galsgow Polytechnic or Bon Accord, so watch this space…

Edinburgh I Match Result

Monday, January 24th, 2011

Played 12/1:

Edinburgh I 2-4 University I

Neil Berry 0-1 Pavlos Bozinakis

Sebastian Gattenloehner 0-1 Boris Mitrovic

Andrew Green 1-0 Stephan Michel

Daniel McGowan draw Adam Bremner

Hugh Brechin 0-1 ??

Graeme Kafka draw Jonathan Edwards

A bad day at the office.  University move 1 point clear of us at the top of the league.  There’s still the return fixture in March to play, so there’s still all to play for…

Allegro League

Thursday, January 13th, 2011

Matches played at Roslin, 13th January

Round 5

Balerno                 1.5  –  2.5    Edinburgh A

Badgers Brook    2.5  – 1.5    Edinburgh B

Round 6

Edinburgh A            4 – 0        Bank of Scotland

Edinburgh B             2 – 2        Balerno

Third Team Match Result

Wednesday, January 12th, 2011

Match played at Alva Street, 12th January

Edinburgh 3              5.5    –    0.5       Musselburgh 1

David Robertson              1     –    Def        Mark Fraser

Shivan Murdochy            1     –       0        David Russell

Lindsay McGregor          1      –      0         Michael Ash

Mark Sanderson             0.5   –     0.5      Alistair Small

Yanni Yannoulis              1       –     0         Vince Barron

Ben He                                  1       –     0         David King